Five Food Friday – Recipes for All!

I read a couple of articles on how to build your blog and one writer mentioned that you should never, ever use the word ‘foodie’ anywhere on your blog. Had I not read this, this post would have surely been called Foodie Friday because this post is allll about the healthy recipes. However, I do not want to be shunned from the blogosphere, so I went with the more regal and sophisticated Five Food Friday. Big difference.

Before I get into the food I’m just really, really excited. The pool is finally open!!!!! Four days later and Starling Pools finally pulled it together to come and finish the job. It just looks so beautiful, I can’t wait for the warm weather to come and stay.

pool

Bolt is also quite excited, although I think he’s playing it cool.

Bolt

I immediately put out the new sign given to us by Emily and Corey to avoid any potential lawsuits.

No Lifegaurd on Duty

While Miyou got her tan on:

Shiba Inu

But enough pictures of pools and pups, I want to cover some of my favourite meals/recipes from the past couple of days.

 

1) Protein Packed Quaker Oatmeal

I really like Oatmeal now. I used to hate it. My grandpa used to eat his plain with a little bit of brown sugar and it always made me feel ill. However, now that I’m a big girl, I find it is a delicious way to get a decent breakfast in when I’m in a rush. I realize there are healthier ways to get your oats but until I’m done my industrial sized box from Costco, Quaker it is and this guy would agree:

Source: http://practicalpaleolithic.com/paleolithic-diet-blog/times-up-are-you-a-professional-or-an-amateur

I feel like if my grandpa had been fatter, angrier and had diabetes, that could have been him and me at the breakfast table.

Anyway, back to the recipe. Added to the Cinnamon and Spice Quaker packet I threw in some All Bran, flax seed, peanut butter and half a scoop of chocolate protein powder. I then put it in the micro it for a couple of minutes and just like that you’ve got a really delicious and filling meal. It is also extremely convenient  – 5 minutes to mix up and cook.

Image

Even Miyou wanted some!

 

2) Breakfast Bowl

Keeping on the breakfast theme, I decided to shake up my eggy options this morning. I remember when I worked at Country Style in high school, we used to make breakfast sandwiches in bowls, so I decided to do my own take on this minus the bread. In a cylindrical bowl I put egg whites, smoked turkey, spinach and light, old, cheddar cheese. I then microwaved it for a couple of minutes. Unfortunately after 2 minutes it was still a little runny, so one more minute was required. For those you who are mathematically challenged, this recipe requires three minutes in the microwave. This meal again is fantastic when you’re in a hurry. 5 minutes prep, 3 minutes cooking time. Also filling and it was really good.

Image

3) Banana Berry Smoothie

This afternoon’s lunch was probably the best smoothie I’ve ever concocted and therefore I will give you an exact recipe.

First I put in one, whole banana, half a cup of frozen blackberries and blueberries and one cube of frozen spinach. I then poured about half a cup of tepid water over it to break down the frozen contents. I put this in the blender and let it do its thing. I then added 1/3 cup coconut Greek yogurt, half a cup of crushed ice, about a tsp of flax-seed and half of a packet of Stevia. I blended this together for about two minutes because no one likes a solid spinach surprise when they’re drinking a smoothie. It truly was one of the best, if not the best smoothie, I can remember making. I took it outside to enjoy in the sun and even snapped a selfie with my creation. There will be very few selfies on this blog but I thought the gorgeous weather and gorgeous smoothie warranted a special honour…my sweaty face.

Image

4) Healthy Pizza

This is something I’ve been making for a while. Although I must say lately there’s been a whole lot more of pizzas that look like this:

Source: http://cdn.gunaxin.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/10/most-fattening-food-in-the-world-burger-pizza1.jpg

……than healthy pizzas being consumed lately. However, this blog is certainly holding me accountable (yay!) so I went back to an old favourite.

For this recipe you take a few multigrain tortilla wraps (depends on how many leftovers you want) and put pizza or spaghetti sauce on them. You then grate whatever kind of cheese you like on them, or use feta if you’re really feeling spry. I used a blend of light mozzarella and light, old cheddar. You then top with whatever you want. Tonight’s creation was mushrooms, onion, smoked turkey and spinach. If they look somewhat like this:

Image

…then you’re on the right track. Bake in the oven at 400 until the edges of the tortilla turn a little brown. I then broil them on high for 45 seconds to a minute. This is the secret, do not forget the broil.

When you’re done, you’ve got this to look forward to:

Image

 

5) Now my FAVOURITE and most exciting part of this entry is my voyage into the world of guacamole. I have never touched an avocado and clearly it showed during my avocado fail with Stephanie. However, once those babies were ripe enough, they were not going to waste. Marko told me he loves guac and therefore making some was a done deal.

I looked up a bunch of recipes until I found one that I had the ingredients for. I then put my own spin on it. The original recipe can be found here:

http://lowcarbdiets.about.com/od/snacks/r/guacamole.htm

Not only is guac gluten free, low in carbs and full of healthy fats, it’s actually pretty good and super easy to make. I was really proud of my first time attempt at, what to me, is an exotic and intriguing dip.

First you cut the avocados in half and take out the pits:

avocado

You then take the insides, mush them up in a bowl with a fork and add a few dashes of pepper, 1/5 tsp salt per avocado, 5 tbsp of salsa, 1/5 cup of onions, 1-2 tsp of garlic powder and as many squeezes of lime AND lemon juice as you see necessary. Go by taste. Everything you need for the recipe is shown here:

guacamole ingredients

I was pretty nervous for Mark to try it because he seems to be the guac expert or something but he liked it, he really liked it!

 

Mark and Guac

He did say that it may have had a little too much salt in it. So that is why I have modified the recipe to 1/5 tsp of salt per avocado instead of 1/4tsp. I think that might solve the problem. We both like salt and so does our blood pressure, so it was fine for us but he said some salt intolerant guests (Julie) would not like.

I learned today to not be afraid of new recipes because if the worst that happens is it’s a little salty, whelp, there are certainly worse things.

Happy Friday and enjoy your weekend, and whatever shenanigans you have planned. I know I certainly will!

2 thoughts on “Five Food Friday – Recipes for All!

  1. First of all, your pool. OMG your pool. It looks so gorgeous, I can’t wait to swim in there!
    Second, I eat oatmeal almost every morning for breakfast (when I’m at my house, not at Evan’s) and I looooove Quaker. I was sad for a long time because Superstore only had Robin Hood oats and they’re not as good

Leave a Reply

